And This Little Piggy…

It started with one morning.

It was a typical British Thursday morning. Slightly cloudy, slightly windy, with a hint of drizzle that stubbornly refused to fall from the sky. My husband had gone to work, and I was sitting on the sofa, staring at the telly that was turned off. We haven’t watched telly for about half a year now since our Freeview Box
went bust.

My mobile beeped. Usually it was my husband letting me know that he has arrived at work. But at that time, it was my facebook notification. Someone commented on one of my photo album. I smiled a little, knowing that it came from one my crafty pictures.

I have been doing knitting and crocheting for years now. My mother taught me the very basic of crocheting, and it stuck with me until now. That’s probably why I hold my crochet hook slightly different from many youtube tutorial videos I have seen. Knitting, in the other hand, was not really popular in Indonesia. I assume that knitwear is not really a suitable attire in my birth country. My mother does not know how to knit, so I took a knitting course, and fell in love with it right away.

I like to keep my hands busy.

But I haven’t been busy for awhile, and I was really bored in that grey Thursday morning… which was slowly crawling to a greyer Thursday afternoon. And then in popped in my facebook– a tutorial of a teddy bear amigurumi making. I did not know who the creator was, but apparently she was incredibly popular among amigurumi amateurs. So I thought… I could make one.

Although I have at least ten years of crocheting experiences with me, I have never tried amigurumi before. I have to admit that I was a little bit conventional and old style. I am still trying to update myself with my skills, but it surely will take time.

IMG_8760[1]

Taken from my Instagram

Anyway… I decided to make a piggy, as suddenly I had the Little Piggy nursery rhymes stuck in my head. That was the result of my boredom, and I showed it (off) to my husband when he came home that evening. He thought it looked professionally made, and that my little piggy looked so cute.

So I thought, I could beat my boredom. I could do this again. So, I decided to make a blog about my struggle fighting boredom by making things. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

***

Note: the little piggy amigurumi was taken from http://www.amigurumitogo.com/2014/06/pig-pattern.html. I obviously changed quite a lot from the original pattern, but it would not look this cute without Sharon’s basic pattern.

4 thoughts on “And This Little Piggy…

Leave a Reply

