This Little Piggy Took On A Strawberry Challenge

What is a Strawberry Challenge, you would ask me. Well, my friends… when you are bored like me, you would start making challenges for yourself just to make sure that your day goes a little bit more exciting than the day before.

My husband and I were off to our local corner shop because we needed bread and milk. As usual, we never managed to go and get ONLY the stuff that we needed. I saw strawberries on offer, and priced 56p a punnet. I investigated and quietly poked some berries from outside the plastic packaging, they were still firm and looked fresh. I took two boxes, and got a nod of agreement from my husband.

IMG_9012

Found a super bargain from a local corner shop, 56p a punnet.

The next day, I just realised that we ended up with almost a kilogram of strawberry. I decided that none of these beautiful ruby red bunch of sweetness should not go to waste. I thought, it would be a good idea to think about it while having my breakfast.

Of course I had strawberries for breakfast.

IMG_9014

strawberries, greek yogurt, rolled oat, mixed seed (sunflower, pumpkin, and pinenuts), with drizzles of honey

I washed and drained the strawberries to see how many of them were about to go off, and surprisingly there weren’t too many. But I separated the very ripe ones and made a really nice strawberry jam with it. Not much, because I don’t have a proper jam jar, so I just put it in a pot and refrigerate it. My husband loves jam, so I don’t think it would last long there.

IMG_9015

Fresh and tasty strawberry jam. Bet you a fiver it will be finished in 3 days.

But we still have plenty of strawberries, so I googled some recipes on the net, and saw one which I could easily do with the ingredients I have at home. I always believe that the best homemade food is one that involves the least ingredients and the most creativity.

IMG_9018

Strawberry Tart. There’s no need to explain how heavenly good this is…

I don’t usually like fruit tart. The idea of cooked fruit is not really appealing for me. But this one was really good. Not only that I know that I have used the fresh strawberry, but also knowing that the whole process was hygienic. My husband could not get his hands off this tasty treat.

Leave a Reply

