This Little Piggy and Pastry Madness

I love food. I love eating it, and I love making it. I found my passion for cooking in early 2012 and baking in the beginning of 2015, and most of the time I could eat whatever I made. Of course I screwed some of the recipes, some worked really well with tweaks.

But pastry…

Pastry seems like coming from different realm. Especially when you’re talking about these: sweet pastry, flaky pastry, rough puff pastry and puff pastry. To be honest, I don’t want to go anywhere near puff pastry for now, as I just started learning pastry since few months ago.

It started with pie crusts with flaky pastry. You might remember my humble quiche and pies? That’s kind of easy because I didn’t roll my pastry. All I did was pressing the flaky pastry dough to the tin. Somehow I had this reluctance to use rolling pin.

You can see as the result it looked slightly “rustic”. My father in law would hate it because of the lack of professionalism in it.

Flaky pastry is probably the easiest. I found that once you have mastered the rubbing technique, it is just a piece of pie 😀 What I consider as one of the most revolutionary inventions in the pastry business is… pastry blender. That thing looks savage and scary, but having that in your kitchen would make rubbing much much easier.

IMG_9299

Sweet pastry, like the one in that strawberry bakewell tart is not too difficult either. From the recipe that I had, I think sweet pastry is like flake pastry, but it uses eggs to bind the dough, and sugar. Texture wise, sweet pastry is not as crumbly as flaky pastry. Of course, that if I have been doing it right all these time lol.

One problem with pastries is that the time spent to use to prepare and make it, plus the cooking time and washing up time is always more than the time spent to eat the whole lot 😦

x ❤ x

Leave a Reply

