I Am Officially An Auntie :D

Well… I was an auntie before this, because my DH has a nephew, but you know what I mean…

My sister just gave birth to a beautiful little daughter — the first in my family. Both the mother and the baby are healthy, and in an excellent condition. My parents are over the moon for their first grandchild.

I am so overjoyed, but at the same time feel a bit sad that I am not the only one who are not there with my sister to give support. Seems like I am the only one missing the celebration in Indonesia 😦 Not happy about it 😦

whatsapp-image-2016-09-21-at-10-44-00-1

Anyway…

So, I decided to just celebrate it myself here with my husband, by baking a cake πŸ™‚ Obviously we don’t need any reason to bake a cake, but it feels slightly more special when you attach story behind a bake…

And here you go…

img_1586

Whoopsie… Forgot to take photo before sliced it :p

 

Cocopandan Cake with Gula Melaka topping.

Yes it sounds foreign, I know. But I feel like I want to make this one because it reminds me so much of home. Cocopandan is basically coconut and pandan (fragrant leaves, very popular in Indonesian desserts and beverages), and gula melaka or gula merah is how we call palm sugar in that part of the world.

It tastes wonderful. A wonderful cake for a wonderful day πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “I Am Officially An Auntie :D

  1. Awe! So sweet. It’s so wonderful. Try to console yourself with the fact that they need time to bond with their new baby and even though it’s nice to be there, it’s hard on the mum to have to please everyone and do the bonding thing. It will be so much nicer for you to see that wee one when she can smile back at you and interact. I was there for my 2 daughters first babies and even though they were happy to share it with me, it was really a time for the couple to be with their newborn and establish that family. You will have your “auntie” time and I bet you’ll be the favorite. πŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Olivia ❀ That is a really lovely thought πŸ™‚ I think they do need time for bonding — not too long though, because I do miss my sister πŸ˜€ x

      Like

    • Thank you Laura ❀ , it is indeed difficult to be away from home this particular time. My sisters and I were quite close too. But… I am going to Indonesia in a couple of weeks πŸ˜€ xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

