Trying Cotton Yarn

Remember when I went to the craft shop in Indonesia? Yes, I ended up home with a couple of purple cotton yarn. I think it is either local yarn, or made in China — judging from its label. Anyway…

img_2003

Since the yarn weight is quite light, I am thinking of making a lacy curtain or tablecloth. I found this table cloth pattern from ravelry and quite like it. I think it would make a good curtain too — all I need to do is change the amount of squares to resize the end result.

After working a while with this yarn I found that the yarn doesn’t slide as nicely as the usual yarn I used. I am not sure if it is because of the material of the yarn or because of the quality of the yarn itself. I have heard that cotton yarn works differently, but I also realised that this yarn I just bought has an inferior quality compared to the usual yarn I have.

img_2008

However, I am not complaining. It is still okay to use, and it is incredibly cheap. Although I am not going to use it to make something that I am going to wear, it will still works for decoration or even light blanket… Hm… Blanket, huh?

Maybe after this project is done?

x ❀ x

2 thoughts on “Trying Cotton Yarn

  1. Jocelyn says:

    Just wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog.
    Also, if you don’t love the yarn then I would definitely stick the curtains or tablecloth because they’re things you wouldn’t put on your skin.

    I love the pattern you shared, if I ever make a tablecloth I’ll have to consider it! Whatever you decide to make I hope you love it in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Jocelyn πŸ™‚ Thank you… The yarn is slightly too rough for my liking, I will stick to curtains or tablecloth πŸ™‚ The pattern is very pretty, but I think it will take longer than I thought it would be πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

