A Gentle Reminder Why I Do Crafts….

It’s been very anxious lately as my visa expiration is getting closer and closer. I don’t understand why, but unlike the last visa application, it seems like it is way more stressful than it was before — the first time I did this.

I am not sure why though… I thought for awhile is it because of the changing of the political situation in the UK? Is it because of the several unpleasant experiences I had? Or because of scary news where people were sent back against their will? To be honest, I might be fine going back to Indonesia… my family is there. I just feel guilty that I have to drag my husband — who doesn’t speak a word in Indonesian, to Indonesia.

img_2188

So in between doing the documents and feeling like crap because of it, I sit down, stitching or crocheting or knitting, and suddenly the world gets much much better.

It is incredibly therapeutic.

It reminds me why I do this. It is a wonderful distraction for when things are so tense and stressful. I can direct my energy to creative process than to worrying about stuff that I can’t do anything about.

img_2185

Oh by the way… do any of you have ever sent anything to Europe? I have a pair of cute slippers to be sent now…

*) the other pair are for my beloved niece πŸ˜€

Talking about creative process… This pattern is incredibly easy, and it actually taunted me to modify it. I mean… I’ve been thinking of different kind of slippers. So I make this:

img_2195

Guess what animal would it be?

x ❀ x

9 thoughts on “A Gentle Reminder Why I Do Crafts….

  1. Little Piggy, I’m so sorry to hear about your anxiety. If you are willing to share how the application process goes for you, I’d like to read about it. I am not in the same situation as you, as I live in the country I was born in, but I worry that my world may change as well–due to the recent presidential election here in the US. I worry for some of my students who are attempting to become US citizens but who are not yet.

    I’m glad you find comfort in your creating. Your love shows in those adorable slippers! I guessed penguins too, but someone beat me to it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Bunny. Thank you so much for your support. I will update how the application goes πŸ™‚ Right now we are still completing the documents, and filling in the form.
      The political situation is not very conducive in many countries right now — not to foreigners anyway. But my husband is very supportive and it is comforting to know that he would stick with me anyway πŸ™‚
      And yes, Bunny, doing craft has helped me a lot. It occupies my mind in a more constructive and productive way πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

