Do You Block Hats?

It might sound like a stupid question, but do you block your knitted hats?

The hats I’ve been making finished really quickly. I quite enjoyed doing the fair isle Panda for the hat, I think they are quite cute. I know I still need to practice more to make sure that the hat wouldn’t skew too much.

img_2246

Usually blocking helps with the shape, but I never knew how to block hats.

Because of its shape it doesn’t do flat properly, so I don’t know if it is even blockable. Do I need a dummy head to do this? Or people generally don’t block hats?

Anyway… I have to finished hats today, and they are for couples. I was thinking it might be cuter with pompom, but I am not sure if everybody likes pompom. So, I leave it at that.

img_2284

Next one?

Well, Mum asked me if I could make something for my niece for her first Chinese New Year — since I will go back to Indonesia for Chinese New Year. She likes it to be red, or any shades of red or pink. I told mum, I will look at patterns and good soft yarn for babies.

Next WIP sorted πŸ˜€

x ❀ x

22 thoughts on “Do You Block Hats?

  1. My dad used to block his felted wool hat on one of our mixing bowls. I have used this method with lace hats, but mostly don’t bother to block hats. It works best on a bowl that has straight sides like those classic metal mixing bowls from Revere.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. tonymarkp says:

    Your hats are wonderful! Blocking a hat is basically washing it and lying it flat if it’s wool. If you’re unhappy with unevenness on an acrylic hat you can steam block it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have never steam-blocked before, and it seems and sounds a bit daunting. But I might try it later with hats that I am not going to give out as gifts… ❀ Thank you TonymarkP

      Liked by 1 person

      • tonymarkp says:

        There’s no mystery to it. You just eject steam over the knitted item from an iron or a clothing steamer. Just don’t touch your knitwear with the iron. You can smooth out the item with your hands as you go. The acrylic dries pretty fast, too.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Wool and lace will look nice after blocking, acrylic and textured stitches tend to lose their fullness so basically it depends on which yarn your knitted garment is made of. I usually iron block lace hats using a small sleeve ironing board and with a wet cloth over the knitted piece. If you should ever try this t you’ll need to go easy on the the ribbed part, just pass over it lightly to avoid flattening the stitches.
    For colour-work hat like the really cute one you’ve just made a little smooth out for the stitches is just about the right thing, you can try damp hat over balloon method, or simply try pulling the (damp) hat over a towel on your head and let it sit for a few minutes, then flat dry it. Love the xiong 🐼 maos they’re adorable !!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Bunny! I never thought of a ball to block a hat. That is a wonderful idea! I don’t have a ball (nobody plays ball in our house) but ball is definitely easier to get than a dummy head. ❀ x

      Like

    • Yeah, I started blocking my stuff not so long time ago, so I am still learning the art of blocking myself 😦 Thank you Ginny… I am leaning towards not blocking the hats ❀

      Like

  4. Ooh, those are super cute! You did such a great job on the colorwork!

    I, personally, never block hats. I would be afraid that they would get little ridges in them from the pins, but I don’t have any metal rods or a dummy head to block with either. So I leave them unblocked. I feel like it doesn’t make a huge difference anyway because they stretch when you put them on your head (unless it’s one of those slouchy hats) so it’s almost like wearing them blocks them for you?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love how the hats turned out!❀️ I’m sorry I wish I could helping you with blocking but I don’t even know what that is as I don’t really knit that much, but good luck!❀️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

