[Arguably] The Greatest (early) Christmas Gift (so far)…

Lol… Sorry… I was pushing it, but I just couldn’t help it. I am so overjoyed with the new development in our family, so I have to share it to everybody. I mean, I promised to update it in my blog anyway, but even if I didn’t I still would update you guys…

Yes, it is about the visa.

I have granted the visa extension, and it feels as if the whole gloomy black cloud has disappeared from our home. I felt much happier, my husband too, and considering how close it is to Christmas I do feel like Christmas is coming a week earlier than it should. I took this as the best Christmas gift the Immigration Office can ever give to me.

I booked an appointment at Croydon, as I used the Premium Service. It was much more expensive than the standard service, but having to be able to get the result in a day is really worth it. We did have a little chat with the officers and they admitted that during or close to Christmas time like this, the standard service could take up to 4 months. My husband’s facial expression says it all…

The last time we did this, it only took around one to one and half hour to get the result. But it was in June, and we took the earliest appointment slot, so the process was understandably faster. This time, the result came after 5 hours of waiting… 5 hours! If I knew it would take that long, I would have brought my knitting, wouldn’t I? Noted for the next time.

img_2289

Talking about the knitting… it took longer than I thought it would be. After working with baby clothes, it feels like forever just to finish 6 cm of ribbing in an adult size clothing. Am I the only one that doesn’t like making 2k2p ribbing?

The lace bit… meh… I don’t really care about it. It looked much better in the photo I saw on Ravelry, but it doesn’t look interesting at all in mine. I tried to convince myself that it would look better after blocking. Hopefully..

img_2298

Anyway… There you go. A good week indeed, seems like I could enjoy the rest of this year smiling 😀

x ❤ x

 

10 thoughts on “[Arguably] The Greatest (early) Christmas Gift (so far)…

  1. I’m so glad you’ve been granted the extension–whew!

    The other part of knitting up the cowl (it’s a cowl, right?) is that it’s a gift, right? It may be that you think it is ok but your mom (it’s for your mom, right?) loves it.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations! I know you are over the moon with excitement. I too hate ribbing of any kind. Something about flipping that strand of yarn back and forth after every or every other stitch is so monotonous. I am glad you are past that point and are onto the lace, which looks very pretty from here.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Well congratulations!!! Now you can celebrate 🎉 Christmas and the New Year!

    I love how the scarf is looking, I think even though the back lace must have been hard to work with it looks perfect with the pattern you are using for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great news, I’m really happy for you ! x 🤗 x Now it’s time to relax and enjoy the holidays ❤
    I can imagine how hard it must feel to knit in adult size after so many baby stuff. Don't worry about the uneven look of the lace right now, once you've washed it it will stretch and be just right. You can also block it later for the perfect result.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

