Do You Make Swatch?

Like blocking, I have heard about making swatch since ages ago, but haven’t been really good at doing it. I think making swatch is boring, and I was usually so excited about going on a project — probably the reasons why I never got into making swatch at all.

I know that like blocking, it is very important to make your knitting project easier, and better. But since I am lazy, and am only interested in the knitting and making up pretty stuff, I usually skip this part and only refer to the gauge information in the yarn label.

But what if the yarn doesn’t have gauge information in its label? Like this one, for example… The yarn looks pretty, and is incredibly soft and would definitely make lovely project, but without knowing the gauge, it would be impossible to use it on a project.

So, I make a swatch. Counting the stitches is always the worst part… I don’t know how many people actually make swatch and count gauge before starting a project. I think those who are faithful, and not skipping this step deserve so much respect. I don’t know how you fight boredom while doing it…

Do you make swatch?